Our Staff

VRE Staff direct the day-to-day activities of the system in the areas of: Customer Communications, Contract Administration, Marketing, Public Relations, Railroad and Equipment Maintenance/Oversight, Procurement, Finance and Budget Planning. 




  • Rich Dalton

    Rich Dalton

    Chief Executive Officer

  • Stephen  MacIsaac, Esq.

    Stephen MacIsaac, Esq.

    VRE General Counsel & Chief Legal Officer


  • Chet Dunston

    Chet Dunston

    Marketing Communication & Engagement Manager

  • Natalia Portillo

    Natalia Portillo

    Marketing Intern

Safety & Security

  • Charlotte  Nourse

    Charlotte Nourse

    System Safety & Security Administrator


  • Christine Hoeffner

    Christine Hoeffner

    Director of Planning & Environmental Policy

  • Nick Ruiz

    Nick Ruiz

    Planning Program Manager

  • Will  Montgomery

    Will Montgomery

    Planning Intern

Mechanical Operations

  • Sarah Higgins

    Sarah Higgins

    Director of Mechanical Operations

  • Virginia Martin

    Virginia Martin

    Mechanical Operations Assistant

  • Douglas Knieriem

    Douglas Knieriem

    Mechanical Operations Manager - Crossroads

  • Rob McClung

    Rob McClung

    Mechanical Operations Manager - Broad Run

  • Tim Thomasson

    Tim Thomasson

    Manager of Warehouse & Inventory Control

  • Ryan Warren

    Ryan Warren

    Warehouse Specialist

  • Justin Ward

    Justin Ward

    Warehouse Specialist

  • Detrius Williams

    Detrius Williams

    Manager of Operations Administration

  • Loren Hill

    Loren Hill

    Mechanical Operations Specialist

Construction & Facilities

  • Dallas Richards

    Dallas Richards

    Chief Engineer

  • Kip Foster

    Kip Foster

    Project Manager – Design & Construction

  • Chris Kocher

    Chris Kocher

    Project Manager - Design & Construction

  • Dagmawie Shikurye

    Dagmawie Shikurye

    Project Manager – Design & Construction

  • Jason Bortz

    Jason Bortz

    Project Manager – Design & Construction

  • Eric Johnson

    Eric Johnson

    Director of Facilities Maintenance

  • Mike Covel

    Mike Covel

    Facilities Maintenance Administrator

  • Brandon Stine

    Brandon Stine

    Facilities Maintenance Administrator

Operations & Communications

  • Chris Henry

    Chris Henry

    Director of Rail Operations

  • Paul Rink

    Paul Rink

    Operations & Communications Administrator

  • Ryan Lange

    Ryan Lange

    Senior Communications Specialist

  • Katy Nicholson

    Katy Nicholson

    Senior Communications Specialist

  • Kevin Goldman

    Kevin Goldman

    Senior Communications Specialist

  • Lana Clemente

    Lana Clemente

    Senior Communications Specialist

  • Erica Patterson

    Erica Patterson

    Communications Specialist

  • Annalee Judd

    Annalee Judd

    Passenger Support Specialist

Information & Technology

  • John Duque

    John Duque

    Director of Information Security & Technology

  • Alex Sugatan

    Alex Sugatan

    Network & Telecommunications Specialist

  • Danilo Ruiz

    Danilo Ruiz

    Enterprise Systems Administrator

Finance & Accounting

  • Mark Schofield

    Mark Schofield

    Chief Financial Officer

  • Mark DeGrush

    Mark DeGrush


  • Alexander Buchanan

    Alexander Buchanan

    Budget Manager

  • Diana Marquez

    Diana Marquez

    Accounting Supervisor

  • Alicia Lewis

    Alicia Lewis

    Senior Associate Accountant

  • Christian Adoma

    Christian Adoma

    Senior Associate Accountant



    Revenue Staff Accountant

  • Zinash Nida

    Zinash Nida

    Grants Accountant



    Accountant I: Grants

  • Niomi Barton

    Niomi Barton

    Staff Accountant

Administration & Contracts

  • Anaya Farah

    Anaya Farah

    Chief Administrative Officer

  • Kristin Nutter

    Kristin Nutter

    Director of Purchasing & Contract Administration

  • Ramon Paez

    Ramon Paez

    Contracts Administrator - Construction

  • Amanda Vitko

    Amanda Vitko

    Contracts Administrator

  • Monica McKenzie

    Monica McKenzie

    Purchasing & Contracts Compliance Specialist

  • Trinette Broussard

    Trinette Broussard

    Contracts Administrator

  • Kenesha Maratta

    Kenesha Maratta

    Human Resources Manager

  • Holly Cockrell

    Holly Cockrell

    Human Resources Consultant

  • Lezlie Lamb

    Lezlie Lamb

    Executive Administrative Assistant

Public Affairs

  • Joseph Swartz

    Joseph Swartz

    Director of Government & Community Affairs

  • Karen Finucan Clarkson

    Karen Finucan Clarkson

    Public Affairs Administrator

Operations Board Members

  • Margaret Franklin

    Margaret Franklin

  • Michael McLaughlin

  • Takis Karantonis

    Takis Karantonis

  • Jannan Holmes

    Jannan Holmes

  • Lori Hayes

    Lori Hayes

  • Tom Gordy

  • Monica Gary

    Monica Gary

Operations Board Officers

  • Meg Bohmke

    Meg Bohmke


  • Ralph Smith

    Ralph Smith


  • Daniel  Storck

    Daniel Storck


  • Andrea Bailey

    Andrea Bailey


  • Sarah Bagley

    Sarah Bagley

    Vice Chair

  • James Walkinshaw

    James Walkinshaw

    Immediate Past Chair

Operations Board Alternates

  • Bob Schneider

    Executive Director, PRTC

  • Kate Mattice

    Executive Director, NVTC

  • Dr. Pamela Yeung

    Dr. Pamela Yeung

  • Pamela Sebesky

    Pamela Sebesky

  • Libby Garvey

    Libby Garvey

  • Dr. Deborah Frazier

    Dr. Deborah Frazier

  • Kenny Boddye

  • Victor Angry

    Victor Angry

  • Tinesha Allen

    Tinesha Allen

  • Canek Aguirre

    Canek Aguirre

  • Darryl Moore

    Darryl Moore

  • Will Mackintosh

    Will Mackintosh